Former Welsh Chapel + house attached
263A Bolton Rd, Ashton-in-Makerfield, Wigan WN4 8TG, Ashton
Part of Group:
At Risk: No
Completed in 1891, the former “Carmel” Addoldy Anenwadol Cymreig (or Welsh Non-Denominational Chapel) stands as a reminder of those who came to Ashton from the slate quarries of North Wales in the late 19th and early 20th centuries in hopes of earning a better living in the local coal mines. Its members included J R Morris, a dealer in rare Welsh books and manuscripts, whose 1963 autobiography “Atgofion Llyfrwerthwr” (“Memories of a Bookseller”) describes life among the Welsh-speaking population of Ashton during this period. The word “Anenwadol” has been deliberately defaced, reflecting a later decision by the congregation to affiliate to the Welsh Calvinistic Methodist Church. The last services were held in the Chapel around 1983, since which time it has been turned over for secular use.
More information by the Makerfield Rambler